Plenary Lectures
  Invited Sessions
  Submission of Contributions
  Registration Fees
  Instructions for Authors
  Important Dates
  Photo Gallery
  Supporting Organizations
  Welcome to Rome!
  Conference Venue
  Technical Programme
  Social Programme

Number of visits: 95581

Welcome to Rome!

The history of Rome spans more than two and a half thousand years, since its legendary founding in 753 BC by Romulus, and there is archaeological evidence of human presence on the Rome area from over 10,000 years ago.

Rome is the capital of Italy and also of the Province of Rome and of the region of Lazio. It is the most populous and largest municipality in Italy and is among Europe’s major capitals in terms of the amount of terrain it covers.

It is the city with the highest concentration of historical and architectural riches in the world. Its historical centre, outlined by the enclosing Aurelian Walls, layering nearly three thousand years of antiquity, is an invaluable testimony to the European western world’s cultural, artistic and historical legacy and in 1980 it was, together with the Holy See’s property beyond the confines of the Vatican State as well as the Basilica of St. Paul outside the Walls, were added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List .
Over 16% of the world’s cultural treasures are located in Rome (70% in all of Italy).

With around 52 thousand hectares of agricultural land, Rome is Europe’s greenest city. As well as its public parks, Rome boasts a great deal more greenery, as well as agriculture on its outskirts.
The protected zones cover 40 thousand hectares.
Rome is Europe’s largest agricultural municipality with 517 square metres of agriculture accounting for 40% of its total surface.

Rome, the heart of Catholic Christianity, is the only city in the world to host an entire foreign state within its confines, the enclave of the Vatican City, and it is for this very reason that it is often referred to as the capital of two States.

Traditionally, Rome was built on seven hills, the names of which were lost over the passing of time, leaving historians slightly in doubt. However the city’s ancient heart is comprised of the historical seven hills: Palatine, Aventine, Capitoline, Quirinal, Viminal, Esquiline and Caelian.

The Quirinal Palace, located on the Quirinal Hill, the highest of the seven hills of Rome.

The Districts of Rome

Links of Interest

International Centre for Numerical Methods in Engineering. Barcelona, Spain.
marine@cimne.upc.edu / Telf. + 34 - 93 405 46 96 - Fax. + 34 - 93 205 83 47
VAT/CIF: Q-5850006-G Copyright © 2014 CIMNE, All Rights Reserved.