## **CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FEENBERG MEDAL 2007**

The Feenberg Medal is awarded under the auspices of the International Advisory Committee of the series of International Conferences on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories. Past recipients include David Pines (1985), John W. Clark (1987), Malvin H. Kalos (1989), Walter Kohn (1991), David M. Ceperley (1994), Lev P. Pitaevskii (1997), Tony Leggett (1999), Philippe Nozieres (2001), Spartak T. Belyaev and Lev P. Gorkov (2004), and Raymond Bishop and Hermann Kuemmel (2005).

The eleventh award will be made at the International Conference on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories RPMBT14 in Barcelona, July 16-20,2007.

## (http://congress.cimne.upc.es/rpmbt14/frontal/Objectives.asp).

The Selection Committee this year is composed of Jordi Boronat (chair), Siu Chin, Raymond Bishop, and Hermann Kuemmel. The rules governing this award are attached below.

The Selection Committee believes that the Feenberg Medal should be awarded for work that is firmly established and that can be demonstrated to have significantly advanced the field of many-body physics. While this impact may be easier to demonstrate for a nominee whose contributions span a considerable period than for a nominee who has made a single important contribution, both cases will be considered seriously. Please note that the award may, in appropriate cases, be shared by as many as three people for a single body of work.

When submitting a nomination, please include the following:

- a) A letter of nomination summarizing the most important research contributions of the candidate. This letter should not be more than four pages in length.
- b) The candidate's complete CV.
- c) The candidate's publication list, citing the most significant 3 to 5 publications first, separated from the rest.
- d) A recommended citation of 30 words or less.
- e) The nominator's email address, telephone number, and fax number.

The complete nomination file will be held for active consideration by three successive Selection Committees. The Committee will contact the nominator for any missing or additional information concerning the candidate. The decision of the Selection Committee must be made in time to ensure that the Awardee will be able to attend RPMBT14 in Barcelona, July 16-20, 2007. Hence, the complete nomination package must be received by the committee chair by **March 16, 2007** at the following address:

Jordi Boronat, Chair Feenberg Medal Selection Committee Campus Nord, B4-B5 Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya E-08034 Barcelona, Spain

In the event you wish to coordinate nomination of a candidate with up to three other individuals, it would be convenient if one nominator collected all the recommendations and sent them as a single package.

Your nominations will enable us to maintain the high standards set by previous recipients and ensure that the Feenberg Medal will continue to play a significant role in recognizing outstanding accomplishments in many-body physics.

Raymond Bishop, Jordi Boronat, Siu Chin, and Hermann Kummel

Selection Committee

## RULES CONCERNING THE FEENBERG MEDAL

In the following, the "Advisory Committee" means the "Advisory Committee of the International Conferences on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories", and the "International Conference" or "Conference" means the "International Conference on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories".

- I. General Rules:
  - A. The Feenberg Medal, or Feenberg Memorial Medal in Many-Body Physics, may be awarded for an important contribution or contributions to many-body theory.
  - B. In selecting recipients of the Medal, there will be no discrimination based on sex, age, race, nationality, religion, or political beliefs.
  - C. Members of the operative Selection Committee and their families and relatives are not eligible for receipt of the medal.
- II. Award Ceremony:
  - A. The Medal will be awarded approximately every two years. The ceremony for awarding the Medal will be held at the International Conference for as long as these Conferences exist and retain a format similar to that of the first four Conferences. Thereafter the Advisory Committee should make appropriate arrangements for perpetuating the award and preserving its spirit.
  - B The Selection Committee will organize the ceremony in collaboration with the organizers of the Conference. The recipient of the award will be invited by the Conference organizers as an invited speaker.
  - C. The tribute to the awardee will be published in the proceedings of the Conference at which the Feenberg Medal was awarded. In the same proceedings an updated list of patrons, sponsors, and contributors is to be published.
  - D. Award dates will be fixed by mutual agreement of the Selection Committee (see below) and the Advisory Committee.

- III. Selection Committee:
  - A. The Selection Committee which will decide on the award to be granted at the next Conference, and the Chairperson of that Selection Committee, are to be appointed by the Advisory Committee at each International Conference.
- IV. Duties of the Selection Committee:
  - A. The Chairperson of the Selection Committee will organize the work of that Committee according to the present rules.
  - B. The Selection Committee will organize, with the agreement of the Advisory Committee, the publicity for collecting proposals for the recipient of the Medal.
  - C. Only one award will be given at each Conference, which award should be given preferably to one person, but to no more than three persons, and in any case for a single corpus of work.
  - D. The Selection Committee is charged with preparing a citation for general circulation, describing the achievements of the recipient or recipients which led to the award.
- V. Any proposal for changing these rules should be advanced to the Advisory Committee by six months prior to its next meeting.