## SPECIAL SYMPOSIUM IN HONOUR OF 75TH BIRTHDAY OF PROFESSOR S. VALLIAPPAN

## NASSER KHALILI $^*$ AND SCOTT SLOAN $^\dagger$

\* School of Civil and Environmental Engineering
The University of New South Wales, Sydney 2052, Australia.
n.khalili@unsw.edu.au

<sup>†</sup> Centre for Geotechnical and Materials Modelling, University of Newcastle, Newcastle, NSW 2308, Australia. Scott.Sloan@newcastle.edu.au

## **ABSTRACT**

This special symposium is dedicated to Emeritus Professor Valliappan on the occasion of his 75<sup>th</sup> birthday. Regarded as one of the pioneers in the field of computational mechanics, Emeritus Professor Valliappan has made seminal contributions to the fields of structural engineering, rock mechanics, geotechnical engineering, and environmental geomechanics. Some of his highly regarded contributions have included: the development of the stress transfer method in rock mechanics, the *initial stress* method for elasto-plastic analysis, and the unified boundary condition for dynamic analysis. He has also contributed to the theory of damage mechanics, fracture mechanics, fuzzy finite element analysis, and coupled optimization and finite elements, as well as the development of *coupled finite element and* boundary element analysis for modelling earthquake effects on geotechnical structures. Professor Valliappan has received many prestigious awards and distinctions including: the 2001 IACMAG Medal for outstanding contributions in computational mechanics applied to geotechnical engineering; the 2002 IACM Award for outstanding contributions in the general field of computational mechanics, and the 2004 APACM Congress Medal (Zienkiewicz Medal) for outstanding contributions and leadership in the general field of computational mechanics over a substantial period of his professional career.

It is proposed that the symposium will include invited state-of-the-art contributions from leading researchers in the field of computational mechanics including: Professors Onate, Hughes, Belytschko, Mang, Idelsohn, W.K. Liu, Owen, GR.Liu, Worsak, Schrefler, Maier, Wriggers, Ohayon, Tezduyar, Oliveira, Yagawa, Yabe, Yuan, Leung, Gioda, Cividini, Lewis, Ichikawa, Oka, Miyazaki, Yoshimura, Kamal, Sloan, Steven, Furukawa, Loughran, Petrolito, Deeks, Song, Xie, Sheng, Li and Khalili.